Happy birthday

I turned 37 this week and it wasn’t nearly as difficult as I expected. Most of my colleagues forgot and I was in meetings all day, but the very special people in my life remembered. My son was so excited to wish me a happy birthday that he was up at 6:30am, and his enthusiasm for the small things — and the gorgeous fresh fruit bouquet sent to my office from my aunt — kept me in a great mood all day.
He purchased me a toy for my toy drive with his own money, and my husband gave me 6 toys to donate as well. I was thrilled and as I put the big Toys ‘R Us bag on top of my already fairly big stash, I am going to have to see if I can find a place offsite to store all of this stuff. Just that realization made the idea of growing old just a little bit easier.

toysrus_bags

My mother made me a vegetarian Mexican feast and gave me some new children’s books to add to my toy drive collection. My grandmother sent me a letter pledging to donate $160 worth of toys to her local toy drive ($20 for each of her 8 grandchildren’s birthdays this year). Wow! What an incredible act of generosity.

My mother surprised me at the end of the night with that beautiful baby blue leather coat from Danier that I have been drooling over for some time. What an amazing surprise.

It was my most meaningful birthday ever and was a wonderful way to help me crawl towards my goal of 169 toys. I still have a way to go, so I hope that my small group of readers will offer me any suggestions to help me collect this many toys!

More updates to come soon about the other goals on my list. Thanks for reading.

Julie

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Happy birthday

  1. Deirdre says:

    Damn Julie! That coat is hot. You must wear it on Monday when we see you in Kingston. I may drool over it too 🙂

Leave a Reply

