Not quite a mid-life crisis

My work life is filled with strategic plans, project management, workback schedules and operations calendars for the year. I am a planning and delivering machine in my professional life, but in my personal life I tend to simply live day to day. Interestingly, this blog and my plan for the ‘power of 13’ for this year is the first time I have every had a personal goal that is more than a few months. I try to enjoy what comes and, especially having small children, sometimes it’s the simple activities that can bring you happiness.

That being said, I am not much of a forward-thinking planner when it comes to my finances. I pay my bills, save in an RESP and RRSP, but don’t have a lot of lofty goals for the future. Since I am turning 37 this week, I think it’s about time that I make some personal goals for my future and that includes being a more responsible financial planner.

So, with the help of Gail Voz-Oxlade I am trying to take stock of what I already have… meaning actually taking photos of our possessions in our house, saving them to a hotmail account and a USB stick at a family member’s home, so if we ever need to know what we have (or prove what we have) this would be helpful. Gail also has a really helpful article to help calculate how much life insurance we actually need, so I am going to make that one of my February priorities.

It sucks to be getting older when I still feel like a kid inside. But, now I have kids of my own and don’t want to leave them in a lurch if anything happens to me. Growing up is hard to do, but the peace of mind is worth it.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

