Trying to lose weight when others can’t afford food

It does strike me as ironic that reading an article in Kingston This Week, the Partners in Mission Foodbank has had a 22 per cent increase in usage of its services since mid-2008, and the top New Year’s Resolution for 2013 is to lose weight. Although the Food Bank’s ED, Sandy Singers, thanked the community for the whopping 3,200 pounds of donations it received, the food bank continues to require protein foods like  peanut butter, canned meats, and stews and items for babies all year. What the food banks always really need is money, as they can often negotiate bulk buys from suppliers for what they staples the require.

Since one of my goals this year is to lose 13 pounds, I am trying to figure out how I can translate those savings into more donations for the food bank.  In 2012, I used a coupon savings tracker and visited my favourite frugal blogs almost daily to combine sales with coupons. I saved over $475 last year using coupons, and was able to donate a lot of shampoo, toothpaste, soap and non-perishable food items to both my local food bank in Kingston and the smaller, rural food bank in my hometown. I hope to continue to do this in 2013.

Taking a Twitter break while writing this post, I saw this rather sad article on Huffington Post: Rich Countries Trashing Up to Half of All Food.

Perhaps every time I am wishing for a pop or chocolate bar from the corner store, or one of those amazing scones from Bread & Butter bakery, I will choose an apple and pocket the money in my piggy bank to use toward my monthly food bank donation. My mother is trying to only eat food with ingredients that she can pronounce. That sounds simple, but actually cuts out so much processed food and forces one to eat fresh, more natural items. Good thing my husband is motivated on parental leave and is doing his weekly meal plans!

Julie

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

