Awesome

Today was my first day back at work after maternity leave, and it was one of those days where it seemed like everyone else and everything else had stayed the same, but I had changed. I felt calmer and more relaxed than I had in the past as I went for my lunch hour walk. But, as I looked around the downtown and thought about my interactions with others earlier in the day, I realized that of course everyone else is ever changing.

I have met a lot of new friends through Twitter and had a fun exchange with two local tweeps about the inspiration for a homemade igloo in downtown Kingston. These tweeps are part of The Awesome Foundation, Kingston chapter. These guys (and gals) make giving look so easy! Each Awesome board member donates $100 per month and then give the money to the best pitch to make the community more awesome. No applications, post-mortems, or impact statements… just great people helping great people.
The Kingston chapter is just over one year old and has already funded some amazing projects. As an art marketer, I love their latest project with the Kingston City Breakers and their Pay it Forward starter kits! What an easy way to get a few random acts of kindness in.

There are people doing simple things all around us that make a difference. Just tonight I was checking my Twitter account and saw this video about Pay it Forward Saint John. After feeling a bit overwhelmed getting back to work and sitting at a desk all day, I am inspired to get out of my desk chair and make some of my own Pay it Forward starter kits!
There is Awesome all around us, and you don’t even have to try to find it.

Julie

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

