And so it begins…

With a new baby that arrived in March 2012, I had a lot of time off work to think about how I was impacting my community. We have lived in this city for over 5 years and have finally just become friendly with our neighbours and have made some close friends. My choice for our new book club was Lawrence Scanlan’s A Year of Living Generously. When asked why I picked this selection, I told the group that the author’s volunteer experiences, especially in our city of Kingston, were really astonishing. So much that one person can do to help others, and you don’t need a lot of money or time… just a desire.

Then my son received a $25 gift card to Toys ‘R Us and wanted to use it to purchase toys for the local toy drive instead of something for himself, and the idea sprung to life. I thought I could get my extended family on board to make some simple goals for 2013 that would impact ourselves and the people around us in a positive way.

This blog will keep my family on track and catalog our progress! Details of our “To the Power of 13” goals to come. I look forward to hearing your thoughts or ideas as to how we can use the Power of 13 to make 2013 a great year!

“Tomorrow is the first blank page of a 365 page book, write a good one.” – Brad Paisley

Happy New Year!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

